Wannee Wah Wah’s, Blackpool [RIP]

I love Rebellion Punk Festival, I’ve played at it since it changed it’s name from Wasted to Rebellion, and every year I have had a brilliant time. Except this year. I’m not saying the festival wasn’t enjoyable, I highly doubt that, I just decided not to play this year (I made this decision at the festival last year, I had already been planning on stopping performing as Ukulele Kris back then.) The only problem with not playing is that I wouldn’t be going, as I can’t afford the couple of hundred pounds it would cost me, but all of my punk rock friends would be up north, and I couldn’t not see them, so on the Wednesday before the festival, Sara and I visited Blackpool to go hang out with some of my friends, before they became incoherent on Buckfast!

Friends were met up with, a couple of beers were drank, hugs were given out, and before meeting up with another couple of friends, Sara and I had time to grab something to eat. We’d originally planned to get Texas Twisters and corn dogs, but when we went back to the stall on North Pier selling them, they’d already closed up, so after a bit of mooching, I suggested we visited Thai restaurant, Wannee Wah Wah’s

2013-08-07 19.27.49

I had to have a bottle of Chang beer with my Thai food, yeah? Them’s the rules! After drinks arrived we ordered our food, deciding to start with a bowl of Thai prawn crackers.

2013-08-07 19.31.20

That’s not it, is it? I thought… no, turns out you get a small complimentary bowl of both Thai prawn crackers (yay) and Chinese prawn crackers (boring), but then they brought out a massive bowl of still slightly warm Thai prawn crackers.

2013-08-07 19.31.32

What can I really say about prawn crackers? They tasted of that pungent dried shrimp paste, and were cracker…like in texture. The important thing to remember is that Thai prawn crackers are so much better than the fluffy white Chinese variety. And don’t disintegrate when dunked in sweet chilli sauce. We had to put these out of easy reach so we didn’t ruin our appetite for our main courses.

2013-08-07 19.55.35

For her main, Sara had the chicken Pad Med Ma-Muang (Thai Style Cashew Nuts & Peppers) with sticky Thai rice. The stir fry was nice enough, just the right amount of spice for me, and the chicken was still nice and tender. The crinkle cut carrots, however, were completely raw, and stone cold inside, and I hurt my teeth biting into it, not expecting it to be so solid. The side salad on both our dishes was uninspiring, but you’re not going to a Thai restaurant to eat side salad (more on the side salad later), however a new discovery for me is Thai sticky rice.

2013-08-07 19.55.42

Why have I never asked for that when eating a Thai restaurant? It’s amazing, and I will always be ordering it when having Thai food in the future. There are no words to describe how lovely it is.

2013-08-07 19.55.26

I opted for the pork Paneng, which wasn’t as dry as I was expecting. I was expecting something as dry as a Biryani, This doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it, because I really did. I loved the peanut flavour coming from the crushed peanuts in it. The rice was nice and fluffy, I only wished I had ordered the sticky rice, because I was stealing quite a lot of Sara’s rice. I used up some of the leftover prawn crackers to finish off the sauce from the curry.

Now for more on the side salad, look at that picture above, I love a sculpted carrot, I really do, but I don’t want one on my plate, it’s just a mass of raw carrot, and I’m not eating that. Also, that’s not a sprig of parsley on the plate… oh no, that’s an actual parsley plant. I could have taken that home, planted it in a pot and put it on my windowsill, and within a month had a thriving plant of parsley.

20130807_201707

Look at it! It’s like something from the Day of the Triffids! We’re all doomed! (Also, check out my t-shirt, advertising A Grand Northern Ukulele Festival, a ukulele festival in Pontefract, Yorkshire, for which I am on the organising team for!)

All in all, Wannee Wah Wah’s is a decent place for some tasty Thai food, the flavours are good, just maybe steer clear of any carrots on your plate, and take a pot to put your parsley in.

Leave a Reply

