Luck, Lust, Liquor & Burn, Manchester

One of my hobbies is following food blogs, I’ve mentioned this before many times, and some places I have been wanting to visit for a while now have been Almost Famous and Luck, Lust, Liquor & Burn, both of which are run by the same team. Sadly, earlier this year Almost Famous was destroyed by a fire. However, the Almost Famous burgers are currently available at Luck, Lust, Liquor & Burn in Manchester, and also Almost Famous Liverpool. We were meeting up with my friend Mary who wanted something Mexican, and I fancied a burger, to keep me going whilst looking around MOSI for the Manchester Science Festival, so off we went to LLL&B… (seriously, it’s a long name and I am worried I keep repeating it!)

SAM_0596

We found it after a bit of a traipse around the Northern Quarter, fitting in quite well with the trendy crowd, as we were following directions on an iPad. I was trying to see if I could grow a beard to fit in with the local hipsters before we got there, but I just looked a bit crazy. Nothing new there, then. I was excited, burgers were going to happen.

SAM_0577

Downstairs is a bar area, where you can order food, but the main restaurant is upstairs. I’d love to hang out at LLL&B just drinking beer, snacking on some of the quick fixes on their menu, there’s a really cool and laid back atmosphere here, and the interior design is awesome, too. Loads of neat little touches, and something new to look at where ever you look.

SAM_0581

We were seated and given a drinks menu, I wanted Brooklyn Lager, but sadly they’d ran out of that, so Mary and I both ordered a German Pilsner, which I cannot remember the name of, but it was really good. Like, really, really good. It had a nice subtle sweetness to it that you don’t get in a lot of lagers.

SAM_0584

We placed our orders and we had a bit of a wait for food, this gave me good chance to go around taking a few photos and a quick sneak peek into the kitchen, now I am training to be a chef at college, I’m always intrigued to see how people in professional kitchens work, they looked relaxed and just getting on with the job, my worries about every kitchen being a Gordon Ramsay screaming contest seem to be unfounded.

SAM_0588

Food began to arrive, we started with a taco each, we had the Dirty Chicken Tacos, which had chicken, cheese, pico de gallo and chipotle sour cream, they were delicious, utter lipsmackingly delicious. I could make a meal out of these on their own, but I had to make do with just the one. There is just one little detail, the menu says they are served on “traditional soft wheat flour tortillas”, however Mary is an American, who grew up in California, and was raised on Mexican food. Soft wheat flour tortillas, whilst completely acceptable, are not traditional, a soft corn tortilla (not the crunchy yellow folded ones) is a traditional tortilla. Still, this doesn’t stop these tacos from being gorgeous!

SAM_0587

Whilst I’m talking about inauthenticity, Mary had the Alabama Bone Suckin’ Slammer, a burrito filled with pulled pork with a chipotle bbq sauce, cheddar and Monterray Jack cheese, tomato chilli rice, shredded lettuce, fried onions and peppers and a creamy bleu cheese sauce. It’s a mouthful to say what’s in it, let alone eating it. Pulled pork would never traditionally feature in a traditional burrito, let alone with the chipotle bbq sauce… but once again, this didn’t stop Mary from devouring this burrito (I am a firm believer that there is no such thing as a bad burrito) despite being somewhat freaked out by it’s contents!

SAM_0586

Sara opted for the Triple Nom Burger from the Almost Famous side of the menu, a double cheeseburger, with slow cooked bbq pork with “redneck bbq sass” famous sauce and slaw. This was one helluvva burger, with delicious pulled pork topping the two burgers. The winning fries on the side had a great spice coating, and a couple of sweet potato fries had found their way into there, too! Which was a nice treat.

SAM_0590

I like bacon. I really like bacon, so I knew I was going to order the Killer Bacon Cheese burger. What I hadn’t noticed was that it was a triple burger. I would never order a triple burger, I’m a bit of a glutton, but I wouldn’t even normally order a double burger. Oh well, what do I care, it was delicious! A triple burger, with bacon, lots of it, and I think it was deep fried for an added health kick, cheese, fresh chillies, baconnaise, yeah, mayonnaise with added bacon, and also chipotle ketchup. This was right up my street.

SAM_0574

My only niggle was the cooking of the burgers. They warned us when ordering that their burgers are cooked medium, but it wasn’t a problem for them to cook Sara’s burger well done, as she doesn’t like rare meat. I have never tried a medium burger, but I’ve got an “in for a penny, in for a pound” attitude to food, so despite being sceptical, I was willing to give it a try. However, my burger was mostly well done, too, there was a small amount of pink in one of the burgers, but that was all. I’m not really complaining, as it was still the best burger I have ever had, but some burger purists may not have been happy with that.

SAM_0589

As if there wasn’t enough bacon in my burger, I also ordered a side of Bacon Bacon Fries, their standard winning fries, smothered in baconnaise and crispy bacon bits. I think I may have eaten the best part of an entire pig today. Obviously I didn’t have these all to myself, we all enjoyed these delicious, gluttonous fries, and will be ordering those again for sure next time we visit!

SAM_0591

It’s easy to see why the Almost Famous/Luck, Lust, Liquor & Burn team have been such a hit in Manchester. They ooze cool. Cool and bacon fat. But that coolness is backed up with delicious, and dirty, and completely bad for you food. I don’t recommend people eat like this every day, but once in a while will make you feel on top of the world. After you’ve got past the meat sweats.

SAM_0595

One thought on “Luck, Lust, Liquor & Burn, Manchester

Leave a Reply

