Ginger’s Comfort Emporium, Manchester

I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about how I was going to do the posts for our Manchester trip. Was I going to do them day by day, or just in order of where we visited? I thought about it and I’ve finally decided, that I am going to do them in the order of where we visited, even if some are very short blogs, with the exception of Aumbry, where we went in the evening after Home Sweet Home. I’ve decided to save that as the grand finalé post of our Manchester trip. Spoiler alert, it’s quite clear I enjoyed the food, but more on that when I get to it.

On the Wednesday of our break, we decided to go for dessert for lunch again! It worked well on the Tuesday so why not, eh? On Monday I got my hair cut in Affleck’s Palace at one of the barbers in there and spotted Ginger’s Comfort Emporium! I got a bit excited about this, knowing that her ice cream is award winning, so we returned to Afflecks on Wednesday for dessert lunch and a bit of retail therapy (I bought a Dalek t-shirt!)

SAM_1173

We made ourselves comfy, especially me, in the massage chair they have, and had a look at the ice cream options on the board behind us, and how we could have them on the board behind the counter.

SAM_1171

We both went for Chorlton Crack and Cucumber, Mint & Honey ice cream in a brioche roll.

SAM_1175

It’s quite clear why Ginger’s Comfort Emporium wins awards, this was some of the best ice cream ever. The Chorlton Crack ice cream made you feel like a proper chubster eating it, but it was great because of that, and the cucumber, mint and honey was refreshing and made you feel a bit more balanced. The brioche roll was okay, but if I went again, I’d just have it in a cone or a tub. The ice cream is the important bit here.

SAM_1172

Leave a Reply

