Yo Burrito, Preston

Recently there has been a spate of new dining options opening in Preston with The Villa ItalianBaluga Kitchen, Fishergate Fish & Chips, the forthcoming competing dessert eateries, Heavenly Desserts and Off The Waffle. All of these places are certainly welcome and interesting additions to the Preston food scene, but none quite as exciting as Solita Preston (July cannot come soon enough!)

Another recently opened casual dining eatery was Yo Burrito, great news for fans of Mexican food! After being open for a few weeks, I decided to pop in to avoid the rain today and grab a bite to eat.

image

Yo Burrito offer a choice of burritos, burrito bowls, nachos and crispy tacos, all made freshly in front of you. Fillings include the ubiquitous pulled pork option, chipotle chicken, Tex Mex chilli, spicy shredded beef or veg supreme.

image

I’ve been longing for burritos in Preston since Hero Burrito closed it’s doors so I was quite excited about the prospect of having a local burrito fix. I went for a medium chilli beef burrito, with pico de gallo, lettuce and cheese and jalapeños for pops of sour heat!

image

I decided to make the poor lad nervous by photographing it being rolled so you could see the insides.

image

image

image

image

Burrito wrapped, I headed to the upstairs seating area to put some burrito in my face!

image

There’s some cool artwork on the wall upstairs, but it doesn’t half lack atmosphere. A bit of background music played up here would have gone a long way, and not the chart music they were playing downstairs on the radio, how about some mariachi music?

image

image

image

Foil unwrapped and I was ready to go! You really can’t go wrong with a burrito, tender shredded beef, soft black beans, rice, pico de gallo, soured cream, lettuce and grated cheese. That’s a list of great ingredients, and you know what, it wasn’t too bad a burrito at all. I’d like to have bottles of hot sauce available so I can add some as I go, and next time I’m going to add guacamole too.

image

All of this was washed down with Mexican Cola flavour Jarritos, a lovely pure sugar based soft drink, super refreshing! I’m hoping they’ll get the neon green lime flavour Jarritos in soon, and also some Mexican beers would be on my list of wants for Yo Burrito, Modelo and Pacifico would be a brilliant start!

image

Yo Burrito is never going to be up there with the authentic Mexican food I’ve had at Lucha Libre (RIP) in Manchester, but I wasn’t expecting that… in fact, I wasn’t expecting the burrito to be as enjoyable as it was, it’s always nice to be pleasantly surprised.

image

Leave a Reply

