Rogan & Company, Cartmel

After our recent trip to Fera at Claridge’s I’ve been hankering for a return to Simon Rogan’s Cartmel bistro, Rogan & Company, so with a free weekend Sara and I made the decision to treat ourselves!

image

image

image

It was very quiet as we entered, so we got the window seat which also afforded us a view of the pass.

image

Proceedings were kicked off with a couple of snacks to share. Crispy pig’s trotter and pork belly, wild garlic emulsion reminded me of the stewed rabbit with lovage snacks at Fera. Deeply meaty, breaded and deep fried nuggets of pork meat, placed on top of the vivid wild garlic emulsion, ready to be dredged through. Crispy shredded greens on top reminded me of my favourite part of eating at a Chinese restaurant.

image

Our second snack was Tunworth croquettes, a crispy deep fried shell with liquid Tunworth cheese inside. These need to be eaten in one mouthful so you don’t make a mess. The surprise of the liquid filling resulted in us looking at each other and giggling with joy!

image

The snacks arrived with complimentary bread rolls and whipped, salted butter. I love eating out at nice restaurants and always look forward to the bread. Properly crusty bread rolls, made with care. As always, perfect for mopping up the sauces.

image

Sara started with Nettle velouté, confit potato, black pudding, egg yolk.

image

The dark green nettle velouté is theatrically poured into the bowl at the table, flooding the carefully placed ingredients and bringing everything together.

image

I chose the Confit salmon, caviar, horseradish, dill and cucumber.

image

Perfect quenelles of confit salmon, crisp croutons and compressed cucumber, topped with caviar, something I’ve never had the pleasure to try before!

image

Saras main was Roast pork belly, cabbage in bacon and mustard, apple and caramelised onion.

image

Soft belly pork with a tangle of finely shredded cabbage that looked almost sauerkraut in appearance, with cubes of apple and an onion purée.

image

For me, I stuck to fish with the Butter poached cod, caremelised leeks, crispy brandade, hazelnut and caper. 

image

Stunningly presented, soft flaky cod with plenty of colour on top sat under a tumble of wilted leaves and charred baby leeks. The crispy brandade were like the best ever fishcakes in the shape of potato croquettes.

image

In a repeat of our last visit to Rogan and Company, I had serious pudding envy when Sara’s Caramel tart, candied lemon and marscapone ice cream arrived at the table. A seriously deep filled tart with a decadently squidgy caramel filling, seemingly made to strike fear into the heart of dentists across the nation.

image

I had to try the Tonka bean ice cream, blood orange, miso butterscotch. The flavour of Tonka beans is so complex, all vanilla and caramel with an almondy note. Fresh orange, blood orange jellies and gel purées offer freshness against the savoury sweet miso butterscotch. Real playful pastry work is happening in the kitchens here in Cartmel.

image

image

White chocolate fudge petit fours accompany coffees to draw this excellent meal to a close.

image

Rogan and Company provide Michelin level cookery at an affordable price, in a more informal setting. Three courses will only set you back £24, you could spend more than this having a two course meal in a bog standard every day pub. If you can, get yourself to Cartmel, pick up some sticky toffee pudding and pop by!

5 thoughts on “Rogan & Company, Cartmel

    1. I deleted the comment in the end. I had my fun with him. I think some people need to realise that this is just my hobby (eating out and blogging about it). I’m not Jay “Didn’t He Play Bass in KISS” Rayner, writing for The Guardian or Charles “Didn’t He Play Peter Griffin” Campion in whatever newspaper he wolfs down food like there’s no tomorrow for.

      It’s my blog, my hobby, my way or the highway motherfloopa’s

  1. I love how Sara always picks what I would eat! I’m definitely going to drag Tate here! Great review Kris 🙂

Leave a Reply

