Berlin Holiday, Day 1

Over the next few blogs I will be writing about my recent holiday to Berlin. This will be a departure from the regular blog posts, but each day will feature food, it’s always the thing I am on the lookout for wherever I go…

Friday the 22nd of July began like any other day… with an alarm going off at 4am in the morning telling me to get up, get ready and get myself to the airport to fly to Berlin! Like I say, a standard Friday morning(!)

Too early to face coffee, or anything passing my lips other than a toothbrush, I blearily got into my dads car, picked Sara up and began the journey to an amazing city.

image

When it was approaching 7am breakfast burritos were procured from Mi Casa at Terminal 1, Manchester Airport. The less said about these the better, however I did get to indulge in the great British tradition of a stupidly early alcoholic beverage, just a half pint of San Miguel, I mean, it wasn’t even 7am!

image

image

Once we were in the sky I decided that I could face caffeine, a substance that whilst delicious does dangerous things to my heart rate so ordered a coffee. It was much needed. We landed in Düsseldorf late so raced to our connecting flight and soon we were on the last leg of the journey towards Berlin!

image

We tried to order the waffle from the Eurowings menu but it escaped us for the second time today so we made do with a Warsteiner and a small tube of Pringles.

image

Only a little later than scheduled we landed in Berlin, got sorted with travel cards and checked into our very swanky pad for our stay.

image

image

Our first stop was KaDeWe, which can be described as German Harrods. The lower floors were dedicated to expensive perfume and clothes, which was of no interest to us. However we spent a while looking around the homeware section, eyeing up super expensive coffee machines that you can control via wifi from your bed and even longer I’m the gourmet section. After seeing Rick Stein try it, I really wanted to try smoked eel but it was prohibitively expensive.

Not everything in KaDeWe is expensive, however. For example in our hotel minibar they are charging €6.40 for a bottle of Berlinerweiss, which I picked up for 98c in KaDeWe! A super salty pretzel cost only 70c and some canned gherkins were €1.60 (about €4 in our hotel minibar!)

image

We then went to the nearby Kaiser’s Supermarket to pick up supplies for breakfast the following morning and plan what we would be taking home with us. I was amazed by these eggs that are dyed vibrant colours to encourage kids to eat eggs! Completely pointless but I do like it!

image

We relaxed by the fountain on Witternbergplatz with a can of Fanta each. Whilst we were leaving Kaiser’s I noticed people feeding cans and bottles into machines and getting money back for doing this, so when our 49c cans of Fanta were finished, I fed both cans into one of the machines and got 25c back for each can!  We need an approach to recycling like this in the UK! Maybe then people will actually put an effort into doing something about it!

image

We were both hungry by this point so Sara treated me to my first currywurst in Berlin, I chose the nearest place which also managed to be the most expensive place for currywurst (probably in the world!).

image

There’s two types of currywurst to enjoy in Berlin, Currywurst mit Darm or Currywurst ohne Darm, currywurst with skin, or without skin, whilst not the original, currywurst without skin has become one of the most popular choices, it’s origins in East Berlin where costs had to be cut during the times when the wall cut the city in half.

image

We ordered two portions of currywurst ohne darm mit pommes mit mayo, currywurst without skin and chips with mayo. Later on our holiday we visited the Currywurst Museum and learnt that this is known as a “White Trash Plate” It was a good meaty sausage with plenty of texture, and the sauce was delicately spiced. The chips were boring, however and I barely touched mine. As we walked back to the hotel for a swim in the pool we spotted that we visited Witty’s Organic Food’s currywurst imbiss, which explained the high cost!

image

After a swim, and a lounge by the side of the pool with Riesling for me and a Mai Tai for Sara we decided to visit the nearby Prosecco Bar for an Aperol Spritz each. Sara isn’t a fan of wine but actually didn’t mind this classic aperitif.

image

I was in desperate need for proper German beer, and asked our hotel concierge for recommendations, I quickly shot down his suggestion of the Irish Bar in the Europa Centre next door, but the Bavarian bar sounded like a great place to get a 1 litre stein of German beer!

image

image

image

Decked out like a traditional Bavarian tavern, I chose a 1 litre stein of Paulaner Pilsner and we also ordered something light for supper.

image

image

Weissewurst came in a pot of hot water, with a soft pretzel each and some weissewurstsenf, which is a sweetened mustard made to go perfectly with this boiled white sausage. It may not have been the prettiest thing I ate over the long weekend, but it was truly one of the most delicious things I ate! I also got to show off my silver service skills when plating up!

image

Something I learnt at this place was that no matter how much you drink from a 1 litre stein of beer it never seems to go down, but eventually I started to make progress.

image

This is how I looked when I was regretting my decision to order a 1 litre stein.

image

This is how I looked when I finished it!

image

However, this is how I felt inside after finishing it! Full of sausage and beer we retired back to the hotel, Saturday was set to be a busy one!

For Day 2, click here. 

Leave a Reply

