Nami Sushi, Lancaster

Things are all change for me at the moment, after a few months of talking about it I’m finally moving in with Sara, and not only that, I’m moving from Preston to Lancaster where Sara will be based for her teacher training course for the next year. It’s daunting but I’m excited for this experience, and also, I get to explore the food in a new city (although possibly at a slower pace, owing to a reduced lack of disposable income as I have more boring adult responsibilities).

Yesterday I was in Lancaster to sign the tenancy agreement for our new home, and also do a spot of job hunting in the city. Whilst I can commute between Lancaster and Preston for my current job, I’d quite frankly rather avoid spending that much time commuting! A few stops into various employment agencies and I hit a promising lead, the only catch was, I’d need to come back at 4pm that day, I had 5 hours to kill.

Application form in hand, I decided that I would kill this time, and started by visiting my friend’s pub, The Robert Gillow (follow that link for an article that makes me angry) for a pint of lime and soda and to fill in the form. This killed some time, but I still had a few hours left, so I did some window shopping for things for the new house, and got to know my new home town. Still not much time killed. This process was repeated until I saw a sign for £2 sushi. This was worth checking out I decided, filling my face is my favourite way to kill time.

image

image

The sign took me to Nami Sushi, a very stark and modern looking sushi joint on China Street in Lancaster, a street well worth checking out for the excellent coffee roasters J Atkinson & Co. I got myself a seat right in the corner of the restaurant.

image

I ordered from the excellent value meal deal as I thought a bowl of katsu curry would be more substantial and filling than solely sushi, and also may take longer to eat, thus killing more time!

image

image

image

The conveyor belt of sushi wizzes past and I tried to make a choice on a portion of sushi to have. One criticism is that the menu isn’t very descriptive, avocado and cucmber are translated in brackets, but everything else is a guess. Whilst I have no problem identifying most of the toppings/fillings, one kept going past but I wasn’t sure what fish was topping the nigiri sushi.

image

image

image

I could have eaten all of these if I’d not ordered a katsu curry, but eventually I made a decision. Those who know me well will be fully aware of how indecisive I can be when it comes to food. That’s one of the problems of wanting to try all the things.

image

image

Swayed by the drizzle of what appeared to be Kewpie mayonaisse, I grabbed a plate with a couple of Tori Rolls, similar to a California roll in appearance with the rice on the outside, they had a piece of crispy breaded chicken in the middle, and a thin strip of nori on the outside. Delicious little morsels, although next time I think I’ll go for the salmon nigiri!

image

image

After a short wait my Chicken Katsu Curry arrived (and I’m sorry but I am a crockery nerd, if it’s heavy and in natural colours, I love it) in a lovely sturdy and weighty bowl which I had an overwhelming desire to wrap my hands around it. On a cold wintery day, this would be ideal! Atop a mound of steamed rice was a breaded flattened chicken breast fillet, and katsu curry sauce was on the other side of the bowl. Tender chunks of potatoes, carrot and onion swam in this aromatic rich curry sauce which reminded me of chip shop currys from my childhood. The breaded chicken was crunchy on the outside but tender as you’d like once you bit through the exterior.

If I had one criticism, it would be that because it was so delicious and enjoyable, I only managed to kill half an hour… off I went into Lancaster to explore, but at least I wasn’t hungry any more.

 

 

 

One thought on “Nami Sushi, Lancaster

Leave a Reply

